Ode to The iBook And A Tale of Woe

31Dec08

Two days ago I was intensely working on a game overview document for a client when all of a sudden the screen of my iBook turned pitchblack and  shut itself down without prior warning. Yes, I hadn’t  made a back up on the USB drive I had plugged in for exactly this purpose. I was about to do that (I swear, it is no cheap excuse but the truth only!) but the iBook died quicker than I could save the file to the USB stick. And now it sits there, in the shelf, all white and dead and all my research resulted in two major pieces of information – de-assembling the iBook is a bitch! Not only do I have to print out several guidelines and screw-diagrams (stop giggling, will you?), chances are high that I will de-attach cables and plugs permanently.

The other major information I got is that it could be the logic board. It could be the battery. It could be something else entirely. For this to find out I would have to send in my iBook and have the Apple customer service take a look at it. Most probably for a horrendous amount of money (I do not have at the moment).

I used to be an avid Mac-hater. Called the items “Barbie suitcase” (look at them, look at them!!) and did not trust in their cool-ness, Mac-lovers would constantly try to persuade me of. I loved the ability to do everything I wanted with my PC. And if it’s uncooperative (and hell, they can be uncooperative at times) I can always open the case, re-attach plugs, exchange a component and clean the fan in no time. What a bliss.

Then came the iBook, which I bought used from my wonderful and ingenius partner in crime. I turned it on for the first time and immediately fell in love with its intuitive user interface, the stylish design and most of all – everything that required heavy installing and updating of drivers and exchanging of components and cursing and sweating with the PC simply worked on the iBook. So I was in love. Being able to put it in my bag (and it fit in every bag I own) and carry it around made it even more attractive. I didn’t even think of turning on my PC. There was no need for it. The iBook wasn’t faster, nor could I play any games on it but still…

So hence the broken heart. Hence the woe. I’ve not only lost a friend but a solid and reliable companion.

I will miss you.

Then de-assemble you. Then curse a little due to all the screws I will need to unscrew to achieve this accomplishment. Then find the holy HD. Probably only to find out that all the data is unretrievably gone and all the cursing and sweating was for nothing.

At least, you’re still pretty.

(Which does not mean that I am not looking for a portable alternative that is going to replace you. Hopefully in black. And just as small. Or smaller. But less sicklish and drama-queenish. And affordable.)

..::UPDATE::..

After I googled for quite a while to see what else the people on the internet come up with I found a page on Apple’s customer service site that explains how to re-set their products. After some thinking and logical brainpowerwork I found the way to re-set this specific iBook (G4, no reset key, needs to be reset with a combination of keys) when it is absolutely unresponsible, as this one was (black screen, no sound, no leds blinking, etc. -> dead). Pressing the following buttons will do the trick of re-setting your iBook, if it’s a G4 (check, if there’s a reset-button, first. If so, please press this one and do not attempt the hazardous 4-button-move):

shift+control+option/alt+start button (Please make sure NOT to press the fn button in the process!)

Hold them for about 3-5 seconds, wait a bit, then try starting your iBook. Mine worked like a charme and if nothing’s happened. I am actually writing this update from the resurrected iBook. Oh, the wonders of late christmas!

Make sure to re-set time and date. Your iBook will be warped back to the 70s and behaves a little disco-feverish at first.

BTW, if this isn’t helping check with your Apple store or Apple approved-whatever-they-really-call-it-store to see if they can help.



No Responses Yet to “Ode to The iBook And A Tale of Woe”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

